UFF Legislative Update: Week Five

 

UFF UNITED FACULTY OF FLORIDA

The 2012 Legislative Session: Week Five

The Florida Senate released a budget that:

· Slashes $400 million from the State University System

· Increases tuition by $185 million in the SUS

· Cuts 100% of SUS construction and maintenance funds (PECO)

· Increases funds for the Florida College System by $11 million

· Increases tuition by $28 million in the FCS

· Increases funds going to private colleges and universities (FRAG)

· Cuts funding for Historically Black Colleges by 25%

· Creates a 12th state university (Florida Polytechnic) with no debate on need for establishing it.

Call offices of Senate Budget Committee members today and Tuesday. The Committee meets Wednesday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Leave a polite message for Senators. Examples are:

1. No more budget cuts for public universities or colleges.

2. No funding for Western Governor’s University.

Urge them to vote against $2.5 million for Western Governors University (in Salt Lake City), funding for which appears at the end of the House budget. Sending $2.5 million to Utah for distance education courses to count as credits in Florida hurts the authentic distance education programs already in place at our universities and colleges. These programs should be chosen over one from a private entity without a real faculty creating courses for students and evaluating students carefully.

3. The UFF-USF chapter is asking its members and all friends on other campuses to contact Sen. Evelyn Lynne to object to the budget item that establishes Florida Polytechnic as a university separate from USF.

http://uff.ourusf.org/biweekly/Spring2012/Biweekly021212.htm

Reminder: Do not use university phones or equipment to send messages to legislators or to forward this message to colleagues.

Tom Auxter, President

Contact members of the Senate Budget Committee

Last Name First Name District Phone Capital Phone Email Address
Alexander JD (863) 679-4847 (850) 487-5044 alexander.jd.web@flsenate.gov
Altman Thad (321) 752-3138 (850) 487-5053 altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov
Benacquisto Lizbeth (561) 753-2440 (850) 487-5356 benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov
Bennett Michael (941) 727-6349 (850) 487-5078 bennett.mike.web@flsenate.gov
Bogdanoff Ellyn Setnor (954) 467-4205 (850) 487-5100 bogdanoff.ellyn.web@flsenate.gov
Flores Anitere (305) 270-6550 (850) 487-5130 flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov
Gaetz (D) Don (850) 897-5747 (850) 487-5009 gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov
Hays Alan (352) 742-6441 (850) 487-5014 hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov
Joyner Arthenia (813) 233-4277 (850) 487-5059 joyner.arthenia.web@flsenate.gov
Lynn Evelyn J. (386) 238-3180 (850) 487-5033 lynn.evelyn.web@flsenate.gov
Margolis Gwen (305) 571-5777 (850) 487-5121 margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov
Montford Bill (850) 653-2656 (850) 487-5004 montford.bill.web@flsenate.gov
Negron Joe (772) 219-1665 (850) 487-5088 negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov
Norman Jim (813) 265-6260 (850) 487-5068 norman.jim.web@flsenate.gov
Rich Nan (954) 747-7933 (850) 487-5103 rich.nan.web@flsenate.gov
Richter Garrett (239) 417-6205 (850) 487-5124 richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov
Simmons David (407) 262-7578 (850) 487-5050 simmons.david.web@flsenate.gov
Siplin Gary (407) 297-2071 (850) 487-5190 siplin.gary.web@flsenate.gov
Sobel Eleanor (954) 924-3693 (850) 487-5097 sobel.eleanor.web@flsenate.gov
Thrasher John (904) 727-3600 (850) 487-5030 thrasher.john.web@flsenate.gov
Wise Stephen R. (904) 381-6000 (850) 487-5027 wise.stephen.web@flsenate.gov

 

 

 

 

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed